Videoshoots

“Just Forfeit” – D.O. Gibson feat Arabesque, G. Stokes, Slakah the Beatchild

Directed by Marc Andre Debruyne

This was the first video I shot with a grant.

I received the grant 10 years ago right around this time of year.

I found out on a Saturday morning after doing a show the night before. I had been in Hamilton at MacMaster and just before I went on, the CD wouldn’t play. But they had already introduced me. So I went out and did what I had to do. Kicked a freestyle, won the crowd over and by the time the CD worked, I was able to do one song and call it a night. I drove back in a snow storm. Wasn’t paid. Kinda frustrated, but glad it worked out.

So finding out we got the video, I was hype. I had been turned down at least twelve times before this. As a musician, there are always moments like these that help validate the dream. Was a blessing to shoot this with so many friends and fam in the video.

Today I’m heading to a video shoot for my latest single. I’m hype. It never gets old…

Shoutout to The Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent On Recordings (FACTOR) for supporting the forthcoming video for “Follow Me”

Leave a Reply

