S.W.I.S.S.

Picked this one up from my man Manafest.

In addition to being a successful artist, I love how he has started several online courses to educate artists.

I’ve been a professional artist for fifteen years, but I still love learning now concepts and strategies.

That’s why I love this acronym – S.W.I.S.S. – Sales while I sleep soundly.

Many people assume that being an artist means that you are in the studio everyday making music.

That’s part of the job, but the saying is also true – the music business is 90% business and 10% music.

I’ve learned early that if I wanted to be a full time artist, it meant that I needed to spend time on my business.

The downside is that business can be tedious.  Even boring.  It’s often procrastinated because it isn’t fun.

One of the tasks that I plan to complete today isn’t fun.  I’m going to be working on scheduling my social media posts.  I will go through about twenty different posts to schedule when they appear in my various feeds.  It’s not that exciting.  But I know by doing this – by automating the process, that it will save me time in the future.  Set it and forget it are words to live by as an entrepreneur.  It’s about systems, its about doing something the right way once so that you don’t have to do it again and again.

Ultimately it will free up more time so that I can do the things that I want to do.

And in the end I’ll achieve the goal of creating revenue even when I’m not actively working on it.

Sales while I sleep soundly.

Ah yeah

PS If you are looking to automate your posts I encourage you to check out Meet Edgar  It’s great!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “S.W.I.S.S.

  1. I love this post, man! Thanks for sharing! As an artist with a business sense, it’s nice to see this kind of affirmation that we are doing the right things when we’re setting auto-schedulers, crafting regular blog posts and ensuring it all fits into the brand. I’m going to try out Edgar and let you know how it works for me. I’ve done hootsuite before, but have nothing right now so I’m slacking!
    I have my first book, “The Musician’s Guide to Surviving the Rock Star Lifestyle” set to be published in the New Year, so generating hype amongst fellow music industry pros is going to be key. Planning and scheduling is going to be intense!!
    Great article, man!

Leave a Reply

