I’m Canceling My Gym Membership

I’m heading to the gym today.

I’m going to workout, but I’m also going to cancel my membership.

I’ve been going to this gym for a year.  I chose it because its the closet gym to my house and one of the main barriers/excuses/procrastinations to not working out is when your gym is too far.

I make use of my membership.  I go.  Well, I try to go as much as I can but I’ve been on the road a lot the last few months so I may only go a couple of times a week or ten times a month.

But that’s not the reason why I’m canceling the membership.

I’m doing it because I don’t like the vibe there.

It’s sloppy.

Sure, usually I am greeted with a hello by the person behind the desk as I wave my fob and sign in.

But then I see the management.  Two managers that have not so much as said ‘hi’ let alone give me a head nod and smile.  It’s almost like they purposefully avoid eye contact.

That’s not like how it was supposed to be.  When I joined I met Joe.  He convinced me to sign up, but I didn’t need much convincing.  His energy was infectious.  Why wouldn’t I sign up?

I’d see him when I was working out and we’d talk.  Not a long talk – we were working out, but the quick just-the-right-time-in-between-sets kind of talk that makes you push thru the next set.

The other problem is the promotions.

There are posters on the wall offering deals if you sign up by March 31st.  It’s June 27th as I write this.

Sloppy.

Then there are the weights.  There is a sign that says “If you aren’t strong enough to put back your weights after you are done, please ask one of the ladies and they will assist you.”  The first time I read that I laughed a little.  Maybe a little inappropriate, but they were making their point.  But then I didn’t see people put their weights back, more so than any other gym I’d been to.

When the members, and the staff don’t value keeping it organized – how can I?

Maybe the final straw was when I asked the manager about the personal training program.

I was interested in a personal training package that could give me a new workout plan.

He took down my name and number.  Didn’t get a call.

I followed up on it, still never heard from anyone.

Strange.

So I’m cancelling my membership.

It doesn’t mean I’ll stop working out.

I have a suitable home gym.  I like to jog outdoors.  I like my P90X and T25 videos.

I may have watched them countless times, but one thing never changes:

They always are hype and full of positive energy.

One thing that I’ve learned is that for me – being surrounded by hype people that are full of energy is one of the top qualities of a gym.

Harder to give it your best when you aren’t surrounded by good energy.

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Canceling My Gym Membership

  1. I’m really sorry to hear this, dude. That’s not the way it should be.
    I’m going to send you an invite tomorrow, my software, my compliments. No pressure at all, but I’d like to be on your team and help you stay driven on the personal health and wellness side of things. That’s garbage, and I hope you can get the vibe back!

Leave a Reply

