Unsubscribe

I get at least 100 emails a day.

Oftentimes more.

I’m not alone.  Many people, especially those in business receive over 100 emails a day.

It can be intimidating opening your browser to find hundreds of unread emails.

What makes it worst is when you take a day off.  Suddenly 100 emails turns into 200 which can quickly turn into 300.

When I take a business trip for a couple of days and am away from my computer most of the time it isn’t uncommon for me to amass over 1000 emails.

Are they all important?

Of course not.  Out of that 100 maybe 20 are.  Another 20 are quick responses.  But at least half of them are junk.  Some are blatant junk, others are emails being sent because I am on a list.  Half of the time I don’t know how I got on the list, but I’m on the list.

That’s when I realized a powerful button – unsubscribe.

I began to unsubscribe to these sites that send me emails a few times a week.  They aren’t important, they aren’t urgent.  They are barely relevant.

I like a good deal, but I don’t need Groupon and Buytopia emails in my inbox everyday.  I rarely – if ever – purchase anything from them.

I’ve only started doing this but I’ve already seen a change.  My emails are down each day.  I look forward to hitting the unsubscribe button so that I can lower that amount.

By removing the clutter you can get more done in less time.  And solve (well at least partially) the challenge of staring at the inbox.

 

Leave a Reply

