Please Remove Me…

I had sent out a booking email to line up shows for a tour.

My goal was to get a steady stream of bookings, but instead the early returns were “unsubscribe” or “please remove me.”

I remember how much this used to get to me.

The natural inclination after rejection is to question yourself, your skills, and your services.

Am I not good enough?  Do they not like me?  What did I do?  Will I have to go back to a day job?

I don’t think that way anymore.

I recognize that it is part of the process.

Instead of looking at it as a negative, I reframe the response and take it as its getting me closer to my core customers and clientele.

The bookings eventually come in.

I had to suffer the temporary pain of the rejection, but the long term gain is when I start to book a few shows, then a few more, and then all of a sudden my schedule is packed.

And that more than offsets the rejection.

Key lesson learned – focus on the wins and not the losses.

Leave a Reply

